Hvar – Korčula

Another big catamaran left on time at 11:15am for the 1 ¼ hour trip to Korčula.

Korčula

I was met by Tereza and taken straight to my room. It’s virtually at the entrance to the old town. The entrance to the Old town is by the impressive 14th century southern land gate of “Ve-liki Revelin Tower”. The town did have 20m high walls all around but only a small section remains. There are 2 other towers remaining, the Large Governers Tower (1483) and the Small Governers Tower (1449).

The St Mark’s Cathedral had an interesting portal with naked Adam and Eve in odd crouched positions. The Cathedral is from the 15th century made with Korčula limestone in a Gothic-Renaissance style. The inside having the usual dark feel.

Of course the bell tower with the narrowest steps yet had to be climbed for some lovely views over Korčula and the sea.

It was here that I realised why I like this place so much – I was the only one up the tower and there’s definitely a feel of way less tourists. So pleased I’m staying a couple of nights. There still seemed to be loads of restaurants and it’s amazing where they can find room for dinning tables.

After walking around the narrow streets it was time for a swim in the very nearby bay.

My swimming bay

Later wandering around I bumbed into Paul and Barbara and their cycling group. Sounds like they had a great day on a similar route to what I am planning to do tomorrow. I met with Paul and Barbara later and found a nice restaurant looking out to sea with a nice sea breeze. We had a nice dinner and beers later joined by others from there cycling tour.

Had to finish the night with a hazelnut icecream.

This entry was posted in 2023, Croatia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment